The United Arab Emirates is a federation of seven emirates, with Abu Dhabi as its capital, located in Western Asia on the Eastern Coast of the Arabian Peninsula. The seven emirates are Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah, and Fujairah. The UAE was founded on 2nd December 1971 and celebrates the day as its National Day every year. The year 2021 coincides with the celebration of the 50th anniversary of its establishment.


Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi is the federal capital of the UAE and the largest of the seven emirates. It comprises three major regions and cities: Abu Dhabi, Al Ain and Al Dhafra. The Emirate of Abu Dhabi accounts for 85% of the total area of the UAE, and it’s one of the top safest cities in the world. The emirate has achieved an unprecedented economic growth in the past fifty years.

Emirate of


Dubai is globally known for its high-quality advanced infrastructure. In earlier times, Dubai used to be famous for fishing, pearl diving and simple agricultural activities. Today, it has emerged as a global trade hub and a major destination on the global tourism map. It gained its global reputation as the ‘City of Gold’, thanks to the booming global gold trade over the past decades.

Emirate of


Sharjah is the third largest emirate in the UAE, and it is home to vast deserts, beaches and key archaeological sites that spread across the city. Sharjah was crowned the ‘Capital of Islamic Culture' and ‘Unique and Distinguished Tourist Destination'. It was also named the ‘Cultural Capital of the Arab world’ by UNESCO. Several places in the emirate overlook the Eastern Coast of the Gulf of Oman.

Emirate of


Ajman is situated on the coast of the Arabian Gulf and comprises Manama and Masfout cities, which are surrounded by the captivating Hajar mountain ranges. The emirate boasts many archaeological areas dating back to prehistoric times, as well as several historical archaeological forts. Ajman is known for its diverse natural landscapes of beaches, mountains and valleys.

Emirate of

Umm Al Quwain

Umm Al Quwain has its name derived from the phrase Umm Al Quwatain, which refers to its ‘two powers’ of richness of activities on land and water. Today, it is home to major archaeological sites and mangroves that stretch over more than seven kilometres. Al Seniah Island is one of the emirate’s largest islands, hosting a natural reserve for migratory birds in the relatively warm winter.

Emirate of

Ras Al Khaimah

The Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah is characterised by its captivating natural sceneries, sprawling deserts and towering mountain ranges. It is home to prominent archaeological sites dating back to the third millennium BC. It includes Jebel Jais, the highest mountain in the UAE, and extended palm plantations, and provides an authentic reflection of Arab traditions and heritage. The city offers diverse recreational activities as well.

Emirate of


Fujairah is distinguished by its rugged landscape surrounded by Al Hajar Mountains and hosts a sandy 70-km coastline overlooking captivating sceneries. The emirate receives visitors throughout the year due to its relatively low temperatures during the summer
Back to top button